Mommy brain

Prior to Momma J and I bringing home the little fella, I remember conversations about how I thought the concept of mommy brain was something that women who spent too much time with their children just talked about.

Now, after pulling three frozen beer from the freezer, I think I’m starting to think there is some merit to this concept.

After spending ten wonderful minutes chatting after dinner while the little guy slept in his magic vibrating chair, I was feeling like our lives may be returning to some sort of normalcy.

When he woke up, I promptly bathed him and then gave him to Momma J for his pre-bedtime fix of boob juice. I then moved into the kitchen to fix his supplemental bottle of formula.

While doing this, I decided to open the freezer for some reason, and was completely surprised to find three bottles of completely frozen beer there. When I asked Momma J why they were there, she said she put two in to cool down for dinner and had forgot about them.

The really funny part of the story is that she tried to blame me for putting the third beer in the freezer. Having not been home all day, and being a guy who drinks any beer that has been put in the freezer for a quick cool down, we both knew this was impossible.

In the end, we both laughed and wrote if off to forgetfulness, but I think we’re both starting to believe she not herself these days.

2 Responses to Mommy brain

  1. Crimson Ghost says:

    S and I used to always put beer in the freezer when S was born and then forget about it. I think it was because we were only getting 2-3 hours of sleep per night. Now I only get that much because of b-school, but it is definitely less fun. Great blog.

  2. killahmullet says:

    Thanks for the comment. Hope b-school isn’t getting you down. I’ve often wondered what it would be like to go back to school with a child in the house. Now that we have one, I admire anyone who is willing to drop everything and go back.

Leave a Reply

