Beer with the boss

I’ve always believed when your boss walks over to your desk and asks you to go for a beer, you should go. So when the question was posed late this afternoon, I promptly picked up the phone and called Momma J to see if it would be OK.

Now I knew nothing of significance was going to come out of this request because a couple other people were coming along too, yet it was a perfect chance to catch a couple of hours of adult talk before heading home to whisper the little fella to sleep.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m appreciating my time at home more than ever, and I don’t feel pressure to go out; however, it is nice to try and keep some normalcy in your life. Prior to the little guy coming along, I always said I wouldn’t be one of those parents that needs to spend every waking moment with their child.

With him here, it is harder said than done. I’m really cherishing the moments he spends asleep on my should because I may never have another little one to hold again. That said, maintaining relationships in the adult world is important too.

In the next week or so, we’re going to try and give Momma J a night out as well. She’s feeling a little like she’s got mommy brain, so I think a movie or dinner with some of her friends is just what she needs.

In the future, it would be nice to balance this out, but I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

