Home Alone

When I woke up this morning, I realized I missed my wife and the little guy a lot. But just as I was convincing myself it was for the best because they were in good care, the phone rang.

My wife was on the other end in hysterics; she couldn’t get out of bed because of her back, and she was crying because she couldn’t get up and feed the little guy. Needless to say, this unnerved me a bit, and I was at a loss at what to do. In the end, we talked it out and I made my way to work, with thoughts of a crippled wife and a starving son.

When I called her back an hour later, I realized I was going to have to take a few hours off because the whole family was in hysterics: her sister was going to leave work to take her to the doctor; her mom thought the massage therapist had screwed up her back; and her dad had a lunch date he couldn’t give up.

Work was cool with me leaving, and luckily we have a company car I could use to get to the suburbs. Upon my arrival I could tell the house was in a bit of an upheaval, but all things considered everything was OK: the little guy was crashed out in his Moses carrier; my wife was teary-eyed but calm; my mother-in-law was a little more high strung than usual; and my father-in-law was out with friends for his Tuesday lunch.

A quick visit to the family’s doctor prognosis calmed everyone – he’s a trusted family friend who justified going to a massage therapist for back therapy – and I was able to make my way back to work.

Wisdom gained from this experience: You can’t really expect to take time off. Originally we thought my wife should head to her parents because I was coming down with the flu. Obviously we didn’t expect her back to seize up, but if I was around I could have helped out and calmed everyone down a bit.

I’m not there tonight due to a late night at work and a long commute, so I guess I have to hope for the best…

Leave a Reply

